Someone’s following me!

Predictably enough, Alli (my friend living in Sweden, the one that “inspired” me to have my own blog) was the first person to find out about my new project. I was still hesitant about it (I sort of still am), but once someone comments on your  blog and starts following it, you have a sort of obligation to carry on, right? Let’s call it motivation, sounds way better.

Anyways, here I am, trying to come up with some interesting things to say. Let me tell you: that isn’t an easy thing to do.

Alli, your last post got me thinking. I guess I haven’t completely overcome that weird feeling that living abroad generates. There is a part of me that is still detached from Lansing. There is something that just doesn’t feel real about being here. It isn’t about the friends I have, it’s certainly not about Nico and our life together (and our cats). I can’t really define it, but it is there. I guess it’s a defense mechanism that prevents me from feeling too homesick.

A Belgian/Argentinean writer (Julio Cortázar) once wrote:

“Irse no es nada, la cosa es darse cuenta de que hay una mecánica de chicle, que te has quedado adherido y te vas estirando” (“leaving is nothing, the thing is realizing that there is this chewing gum dynamics, that you’re still sticking [to your place] and you’re stretching out”). Okay, I haven’t done a great job translating it (helpful feedback is appreciated). Maybe that’s the best way to describe it.

Let’s leave the sadness aside and move on to something more useful. Alli, I know you love Woody’s rice and lentil soup. I’ve found a recipe for it, tried it and loved it. It’s easy to make and yields a ton of soup and yummy happiness. Here it is:

Lebanese rice and lentil soup (Dani’s version)

-ingredients:
•2 tbsp olive oil
•1 onion, chopped
•4-5 garlic cloves
•2 tsp ground cumin
•6-7 broth cubes
•1 tsp crushed red pepper
•salt and pepper to taste
•8 cups of water (and more as required)
•2 cups dried red lentils
•1/3 cup white rice (uncooked)

-procedure:
1) heat the oil in a large pan; cook garlic and onion for ~2 min, then add the cumin, red pepper and  broth cubes. Cook for another couple of minutes, stirring frequently, until golden brown.
2) add the water and lentils; bring to a boil and then simmer until lentils are mushy (about 20 min)
3) optional – purée the soup using a blender
4) add the rice (and probably some more water) and simmer until cooked (make sure you stir it, to prevent the rice from sticking to the bottom of the pan)

Serve hot; add lemon juice to taste. Makes 6-8 servings (maybe even more, depending on how much water you add)

This entry was posted in Ramblings, Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Someone’s following me!

  1. alli says:

    i love being predictable! i’m going to the store for real tomorrow… may try to pick up these ingredients. i need to get good at cooking only by stovetop…

Leave a Reply

