Not-so-vegan Pie

This is a short post; I promised Chieh I would give her the recipe for my pie crust.

This recipe was originally vegan, but I decided that using half a cup of oil was too fattening, so I replaced half the oil for egg whites. It worked out great.

Not-so-vegan Pie Crust

-ingredients:

  • 1.5 cups flour (I usually use a 50-50 mixture of all-purpose and whole wheat)
  • 0.25 cup oil (I use olive oil)
  • 2 egg whites
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • optional: oats, flax seeds, sesame seeds, etc

-procedure:

Combine all the dry ingredients in a large bowl; add the oil and the egg whites (slightly beaten, if desired), mixing with a wooden spoon. Add water until the dough is formed. Cover the bowl with aluminum foil and let stand in the fridge for ~30 minutes. Roll out until the dough is ~0.25 inches thick, and then place on the pan (a 9″ works best).

Regarding the filling, be as creative as you want (my creations are vegetarian, but never vegan… I love cheese too much). Bake at ~375 F until the top is golden-brown and the filling is firm. Eat to your heart’s content.

Zucchini and ricotta pie

Spinach pie

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Not-so-vegan Pie

  1. Chieh says:

    ^_^ Hahaha….. I am so trying this out~! Yum yum……

Leave a Reply

