Would you say it’s luck?

I got an email from a friend last night. He was complaining about his bad luck. He actually said he’s been unlucky since he was a child. Yes, I know how sad this sounds, and I’m not trying to make fun of him. However, I don’t agree with this view. Can we blame luck for our failures? Can we call a successful person “lucky”? It doesn’t feel fair to me.

Some weeks ago I was talking about religions with another friend. I’ll spare you the details; I feel people sometimes use God as the reason things do or do not happen, and I don’t like that. I prefer to believe I’m responsible for my own actions and their outcomes. He reminded me of the saying: “God helps those who help themselves”. You see? I can agree with that.

Now, let me call it “luck” instead of “God”; it’ll make my argument even more general (and I’ll probably offend fewer people). Wouldn’t it be true that we should “help” our luck, then? I refuse to accept that people are born either lucky or unlucky, without the chance to change your situation.

We can all agree: if I buy a raffle ticket and don’t win a prize, that’s bad luck. But if I study hard for a test and do well on it, would you say I’m lucky?

By no means I’m  denying the existence of something like luck; I just don’t think we can use it as an excuse for the consequences of our deeds. Saying that a hard-working person is lucky is ignoring their effort; blaming bad luck for your failures means you aren’t taking responsibility for your doings.

Yes, I know I may sound too harsh. The thing is, I’m usually hard on myself and I don’t trust my luck; I believe my success (all of it, be it large or not) and many of the opportunities I’ve had are the result of my hard work. I just can’t easily sympathize with those who rely too much on luck. I hope that doesn’t make me a horrible person…

This entry was posted in Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Would you say it’s luck?

  1. Ian says:

    I agree… but I’m so lucky to be your friend! 😉

Leave a Reply

