Taste of home II

There are probably two things about me you already know: I have a sweet tooth that gets terribly annoying when I’m stressed and I have no will power to resist it.

I’ve sat at a chair, in front of my computer, getting ready for my second year oral for the past days. That means that my stress levels are higher than sky-scrapers, so my sweet tooth is driving me insane. After spending the morning in the lab, I came back home for the afternoon/evening/night (I just hope I won’t be working by midnight). While I was still in the lab, I received an email from my mom, telling me that she made arroz con leche yesterday. Oh, crap. Crap, crap, crap. Why, mom? WHY??!! You could have just remained silent, omitted that detail. But she didn’t. And that was all I needed.

Arroz con leche (literally “rice with milk”) is the name we give to rice pudding in Argentina.      Yes, it probably isn’t the most delicious dessert ever, but I like it. A lot. And it is super easy to make, and it tastes like home to me. We had all the ingredients in our kitchen (yes, we had more than 1 qt of milk! impressive, isn’t it?), so I made it. It is almost impossible to ruin arroz con leche, so it is not surprise that it turned out good and tasty.

The only not-so-bad thing about all this is that I work out for at least 35 min every morning. Chemistry will make me fat, but it won’t be so catastrophic. And in less that a month I’ll go back to my healthier, more relaxed, more normal-ish life.

Enough procrastination for this moment. Here is the recipe:

Arroz con leche

-Ingredients

  • ~5 cups of milk (I used 1%, because that’s what we usually buy; I’m sure this would be even tastier with 2% or whole milk… but I won’t try it, just in case)
  • 1 cup of long grain rice (the cheaper, the better. Trust me)
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 2 or 3 pieces of orange peel (don’t grate it)
  • vanilla extract to taste

-Procedure

1) Put the milk, vanilla extract and cinnamon stick in a pan and bring to a boil.

2) Once it begins boiling, add the sugar, rice and orange peel. Stir to mix. Turn the heat to low and let simmer until the rice is cooked. You might need to add more milk (the original recipe called for 3.5 cups, but I always have to add more).

3) Enjoy. You can add some ground cinnamon when serving.

home-tasting yumminess

It is such a simple, humble dessert than the pictures don’t do it justice

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

