Almost there

Ugh. Last night was rough.

I wasn’t feeling really nervous, and I was exhausted when I hit the bed around 11 pm. I think I fell asleep pretty easily, but then I kept tossing and turning during the night. I was thinking about this nonexistent slide in my presentation, and I was trying to convince myself of keeping it (or not). When the alarm went off at 7.20 am, I was almost happy to wake up and do something else, something real, at least.

My 2nd-year exam is tomorrow, so today is my “relax and get ready” day. Cooking is something that I enjoy and soothes me, so that is on the agenda for today; going for a run is there as well (have I mentioned how happy I am now I can run again?).

These past weeks have been intense, both work and emotions wise. I’m ready to leave this behind and get back to a more normal life, but at the same time I’m really happy I’ve survived all the prep time; I’ve learned quite a bit, not only in terms of science, but about relying in people and trusting my abilities as well. Hopefully, that won’t leave me anytime soon.

Alli (probably my best cheerleader ever) sent me an encouraging email this morning that put a big smile on my face. I’ll try my best to keep her words in my mind to help me calm down in a moment of need tomorrow.

Oh crap, I’m thinking too much about it and getting nervous again. Time to cook and unwind. I’m making my famous (?) cheesy scones, one of Nico’s favorites. Yeah, I might be making them for that reason… and the fact that Mitch (my second reader) thought they were good helps too 😉

Here is the recipe. Enjoy.

Dani’s Cheesy Scones

-Ingredients

  • 4 cups flour (I usually mix all-purpose and whole wheat, about 1 cup AP and 3 cups WW; the original recipe calls for AP only. Your choice)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp salt
  • 1 stick unsalted butter
  • 1/2 lb shredded cheese (I use the 3-5 cheese Italian mix, either Sargento or Kraft. I don’t even remember what does the original recipe call for)
  • oregano and rosemary to taste (or any other herbs you like; fresh ones are heavenly, but dried ones work as well)
  • 3 tbsp whipping cream (or a bit more if you aren’t afraid of calories)
  • milk (as much as necessary; I guess it is less than 1 cup)
  • flax seeds (no idea how much)

-Procedure:

1) On the counter top, combine flour, salt and baking powder. Cut the butter into little pieces and add it to the flour; with your hands, mix these ingredients until you get something that resembles sand.

2) Add the cheese, herbs, seeds (if using) and cream, without kneading too much.

3) Add enough milk to get a nice dough.

4) Cut the scones (~2 in diameter) and bake them at medium heat for ~25 min (or until they look golden-brown on top)

5) Wait a little bit before eating them! Burning yourself isn’t funny.

I know; I always forget to buy the thing to cut the dough... I only remember when I actually need it.

So delicious! I had to keep an eye on Nico to make sure he didn't inhale the whole batch.

This entry was posted in Ramblings, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Almost there

  1. Dani says:

    3/14/2012 – Update: Mitch actually asked me for the recipe 🙂

  2. alli says:

    I was going to ask you for this one too! Great Job, my love! (and thanks)!!!

  3. alli says:

    I am looking these up again… thank you for posting… my Swedes will love them tomorrow morning! BESOS mi amor!!!

Leave a Reply

