End of the day ramblings

(I wrote this using DarkCopy, a “simple, full screen text editor for distraction-free writing”. I stumbled upon it, and I had time to kill, so I gave it a try. Nice experiment. The text editor? Oh, yes, it’s okay. Would I use it again? Only if I stumble upon it again.)

I honestly have no idea why would I want this. The only thing I want right now is to leave the lab and go get food. The idea of a short walk to Sindhu’s seems great; and Indian food for dinner? YUM.

(I still don’t see the point of this)

The thing is, since I have nothing better to do and I don’t want to munch anymore, writing this seems to be a good idea (even though I don’t know exactly why am I doing this and this text processor doesn’t seem better than any other. Oh, well).

Today was slightly weird. I got to the lab at 8 am, and Dong was the first one to show up, around 9 am. Lisa came 2 hours later, and Larry got here in between 2 and 3 pm. Linsdey and Annie weren’t here (Lindsey’s visiting his brother, I believe, and Annie moved in to her new house today). Eileen and Jennie are usually in the office or the laser lab. Drew spent some time in the lab. Not having Annie around feels weird now! It’s nice to have someone to talk to and to ask for chemistry-related help (she’s good at synthesis, unlike me). So these past two days, without her around (and with fewer people in the lab – Lisa and Lindsey weren’t here yesterday) have been quiet, but productive as well. Shouldn’t complain much.

OK, time to check my solvent. Has it evaporated enough yet? I really want to go home (I must say, though, that the Skinny Cow candy bar helped – I’m not starving anymore).

Getting there. Ten more minutes and I’ll be out. If there is something I don’t like is rushing things. Rushing chemistry, specially. And that is exactly what I’m doing right now. Why? Because they are regenerating the gloveboxes tonight. This means that within 20 minutes or so, the lab will stink. In other words, I have to leave soon. But I don’t want to leave before the solvent my product is dissolved in evaporates a bit more. That way, when I come in tomorrow afternoon, I’ll have the solid I need, and I’ll be able to carry on with my reactions. Yes, I work on the weekends. No, I don’t think it’s that bad. Yes, I am a nerd and a workaholic. No, I am no exactly proud of that, but I have learned how to live with it.

Interesting thing how you can write a lot when you don’t really plan on doing it. I usually want my posts to be interesting a relevant. This time I just needed to keep myself busy for 20 minutes. I guess I’ve succeeded.

Even if no one reads this, I’m glad I wrote it.

Food and freedom are calling. Good night.

This entry was posted in Ramblings, Science. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to End of the day ramblings

  1. Annie says:

    Haha. This is hilarious! I wish I’d been in lab when you’d written it because it would have been funny to see you in this funny mood. I hope you remembered to empty the trap on the rotovap 🙂

Leave a Reply

