Snowed in

They say Necessity is the mother of Invention. I’d add that (sometimes) Boredom is the mother of Productivity.

I got back to East Lansing yesterday afternoon and was welcomed by my cats and a Snow Storm Warning. The former have spent all their time trying to sit on me; the latter has kept me home for about 30 hours (and counting). We even have a snow day tomorrow at MSU! It’s the second time in three years (the first was during my first year here), and the 6th in the history of MSU. Yes, the weather is that bad.

So, what’s the connection between paragraphs 1 and 2? I’ve been in my apartment since I got back in EL; my good friend Annie offered me a ride to the grocery store, but I was too tired for that yesterday, and we have all the essentials here (had we had no toilet paper, I would have run to Meijer; any other thing is not a staple). So here I was, with a pantry full of beans, rice, pasta and spices, an impending snow storm and a humongous pile of dirty clothes. I started with the laundry. I’m pretty sure the washing machine was going from 5 to 9 pm. I could not believe how much dirty crap I had piled up on! Those 5 days without power before our trip did take a toll on our laundry, and I couldn’t catch up before we left, so the pile was taller than me. Okay, no, not that tall. But impressive nonetheless. While the washing and drying machines were doing their magic, I turned my attention to the kitchen. I was hungry, and there was almost nothing to snack on, so I had to cook. Knowing that my next trip to Meijer will no happen for a couple of days, I decided to stock up on food. And that’s when the “necessity is the mother of invention” kicks in. I got fairly creative and used whatever was in our pantry and our freezer (that had been partially emptied during the power outage). I won’t be enjoying gourmet cuisine this week, but hey! the split pea soup I made is delicious. No complaints here.

But the soup, the quinoa, the beans are not surprising. The amazing thing that happened today was bread. I made my own bread (Peeta would be so proud!), and it was delicious. And so easy! Surprisingly enough, all the ingredients were in our pantry, even the yeast. Yes, it said “best before March 2013”, but I just used a bit more than what the recipe called for and it worked like a charm. Take that, expiration dates!

I used this recipe. Thank you whatever your name is, I couldn’t easily find it on your blog for this great recipe! You’re my best friend now. For reals. 

Image

Yummy yummy goodness. Oh, how I love carbs!

But, wait! It doesn’t end there. I’ve also been very active with my sewing machine today. I made a new headband and 3 pairs of leg warmers, all from old sweaters. Oops! I haven’t taken pictures of those yet. I’ll do that when I wear them. I didn’t follow a specific tutorial for those, but Pinterest is full of them if you’re curious.

Recapping, in the last 30 hours I’ve done a ton of laundry, made two yummy dishes that will feed me this week, two loaves of bread (you know, go big or go home), three pairs of leg warmers and a head band. I feel so accomplished! My mom says I sound like a housewife from the 50s. Oh well, at least I’m ready for the cold week and I haven’t been bored for a minute since I got back. Now you see the meaning of my first sentence.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

